Publications

Univers culturel de Saint-Sulpice – Archives Department

BRIEF HISTORY
It was in the autumn of 1641 that Jean-Jacques Olier, priest, brought together several other priests who would then establish the parish of Saint-Sulpice in Paris early in 1642.  The small community took the name "Compagnie des Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice" (Society of Priests of Saint Sulpice). In 1657, Jean-Jacques Olier sent the first four Sulpicians to Montreal. It was the beginning of a Sulpician presence in Montreal that has remained to this day. The Sulpicians were central figures in the development of Montreal.  Since their arrival, they have contributed significantly to Montreal’s religious, social, cultural, and economic life, as well as to the advancement of education in the city.
 
Missionaries, explorers, clergymen and lords, the Sulpicians worked alongside indigenous peoples, Montrealers, and religious communities. Educators and promoters of human development, they established schools from primary to university levels and created libraries for use by the general public. The Sulpicians contributed to the development of hospitals and organizations offering support to those in need. Demonstrating their concern for arts and letters, they patronized and encouraged artists who impacted the spheres of painting, sculpture, architecture, music, and literature.  

Still pursuing their mission with a focus on education, the Priests of Saint Sulpice maintain a presence in Canada, the United States, Rome, Japan, Colombia and Brazil.

DESCRIPTION OF FONDS AND COLLECTIONS
The archives conserved at the Séminaire de Saint-Sulpice concern a range of aspects of the religious community’s history and that of Montreal.  The institutional fonds bear witness to the society’s influence in several different areas of activity. These include, for example, in the case of the fonds of the Compagnie des Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice, all of the collections dealing with missions (Montagne, Sault-au-Récollet, Lac-des-Deux-Montagnes, the mission of Kenté, La Présentation, l'Acadie, etc.). Additionally within the archives are documents which reflect the seigneurial administration (Montréal, Lac-des-Deux-Montagnes, Saint-Sulpice), the establishment of parishes and churches on the Island of Montreal and its vicinity (Saint-Sulpice, Lac-des-Deux-Montagnes), collaboration with other religious orders in Montreal offering services in education, hospital care, help to those in need and support to the Catholic Church, and the construction of the first Lachine Canal in order to facilitate navigation, etc.   
Other fonds speak to the community’s involvement in the construction of libraries. Collections from the Cercle Ville-Marie, the Cabinet de lecture paroissiale, and the Bibliothèque paroissiale eventually came together to form the Bibliothèque Saint-Sulpice. 

Fonds from educational institutions are also important testaments to Sulpician involvement: the Collège de Montréal was initially established at Longue-Pointe, the Collège André-Grasset which would become the first classical boarding school, the Grand Séminaire de Montréal for the instruction of clergymen in francophone Canada, the collège Olier, the Séminaire de philosophie, and the Université Laval in Montreal.  
Other fonds speak to the Sulpicians’ more recent presence in Brazil, Colombia, Japan and Rome.

The personal fonds reveal in a more intimate manner the actions taken by the Sulpicians in their professional capacity and in their personal lives. Many of the community’s members have had a significant impact on the history of Montreal from the French regime through current day.

The archives department also oversees the former collections from the Sulpician libraries. A catalogue includes to date over 10,000 rare and antique works belonging to different Sulpician libraries including the library of Séminaire de Saint-Sulpice.

The movable goods department ensures the conservation pf thousands of heritage assets, including works of art, religious and secular decorative arts objects, as well as civilian, household, ethnological, technological and scientific artifacts.

Time span covered by archives: approx. 1643-2019
Technical specifications and maps: 9,000
Iconographic documents: 35,000
Text documents: 550 m.l.
Hours of audio recording: 225
Hours of video recording:130
Number of fonds: 342

MANDATE AND MISSION
In 2006, the Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice de Montréal created the corporation Univers culturel de Saint-Sulpice in accordance with the Religious Corporations Act (L.R.Q., chapter C-71), a continuation of the corporation Les Archives des Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice (1991). They assigned this corporation with the management of their cultural assets.  

According to their Letters Patent, the corporation’s mandate is to acquire, conserve, and administer the archives, antique books, assorted documents, furniture, paintings, and sculptures while making them accessible to researchers and to the public at large.  

Under the authority of the corporation’s administration council, the archives department’s coordinator oversees the execution of a variety of activities involving the archives and rare books. He has under his responsibility an assistant archivist and an archivist for technical assistance. Interns, temporary employees, and volunteers join this team for certain projects. The department’s personnel ensures the organization of the fonds and the archival collections while also promoting their appreciation, diffusion, research, and assistance to researchers.  In 2016, the archives department was recognized as a private archives service certified by the National Archives Library of Quebec. The archives department has been a member of Network of Private Archives Departments of Quebec (RSAPAQ) since 2016.

Publications

Univers culturel de Saint-Sulpice - Département des archives

BREF HISTORIQUE
C'est à l'automne de 1641 que Jean-Jacques Olier, prêtre, rassemble quelques prêtres qui s'établissent ensuite à la paroisse Saint-Sulpice à Paris au début de 1642.  La petite communauté prendra le nom de Compagnie des Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice. En 1657, Jean-Jacques Olier envoie à Montréal les 4 premiers sulpiciens. C'est le début d'une présence sulpicienne à Montréal qui se poursuit toujours. Les Sulpiciens furent les principaux acteurs du développement de Montréal.  Depuis leur arrivée, ils ont contribué de façon significative à la vie religieuse, sociale, économique, culturelle et à la promotion de l'éducation à Montréal.
 
Missionnaires, explorateurs, curés et seigneurs, les Sulpiciens ont œuvré auprès des Autochtones, de la population montréalaise et des communautés religieuses. Éducateurs et promoteurs du développement humain ils ont établi des écoles depuis l'enseignement du primaire jusqu'aux facultés universitaires et ils ont mis sur pied des bibliothèques au service de la population. Ils ont participé et soutenu le développement des hôpitaux et des organismes de soutien aux gens dans le besoin. Soucieux des arts et des lettres, ils ont fréquenté et encouragé des artistes qui ont marqué les domaines de la peinture, de la sculpture, de l'architecture, de la musique et de la littérature.  

Poursuivant toujours une mission axée sur l'éducation, les Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice manifestent leur présence au Canada et aux États-Unis, à Rome, au Japon, en Colombie et au Brésil.

DESCRIPTION DES FONDS ET COLLECTIONS
Les fonds d'archives conservés au Séminaire de Saint-Sulpice portent sur une diversité d'aspects de l'histoire de la communauté et l'histoire montréalaise.  Les fonds institutionnels témoignent du rayonnement de la compagnie dans différents champs d'activité. Parmi ceux-ci, signalons pour le fonds Compagnies des Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice, toutes les séries traitant des missions (la Montagne, le Sault-au-Récollet, le Lac-des-Deux-Montagnes, la mission de Kenté, La Présentation, l'Acadie, etc.). Et sur d'autres points, toute l'administration seigneuriale (Montréal, Lac-des-Deux-Montagnes, Saint-Sulpice), l'établissement des paroisses et des églises sur l'Île de Montréal et en périphérie (Saint-Sulpice, Lac-des-Deux-Montagnes), les collaborations avec les autres communautés religieuses établies à Montréal qui rendent des services en éducation, en soins hospitaliers, en assistance aux gens dans le besoin et en soutien à l'Église catholique, la construction du premier canal Lachine afin de faciliter la navigation, etc.   
D'autres fonds témoignent des implications de la communauté dans la volonté de mettre sur pieds des bibliothèques.  Les fonds du Cercle Ville-Marie, du Cabinet de lecture paroissiale, de la Bibliothèque paroissiale vont culminer vers la fondation de la Bibliothèque Saint-Sulpice.  

Les fonds de maisons d'enseignement sont également significatifs comme témoignage de l'implication sulpicienne : le Collège de Montréal établi initialement à la Longue-Pointe, le Collège André-Grasset qui sera le premier externat classique, le Grand Séminaire de Montréal pour la formation du clergé diocésain, canadien et francophone, le collège Olier, le Séminaire de philosophie, l'Université Laval à Montréal.  
D'autres fonds traitent de la présence plus récente des Sulpiciens au Brésil, en Colombie, au Japon et à Rome.

Les fonds personnels témoignent de façon plus particulière des actions menées par les sulpiciens dans leurs fonctions et leur vie personnelle. Bon nombre de membres de la communauté ont marqué l'histoire montréalaise et leur communauté depuis le Régime français jusqu'à aujourd'hui.

Le département des archives voit également aux collections anciennes des bibliothèques sulpiciennes.  Un catalogue recense à ce jour plus de 10 000 ouvrages rares et anciens faisant partie des différentes bibliothèques sulpiciennes depuis celle du Séminaire de Saint-Sulpice.

Le département des biens mobiliers veille à la conservation de milliers de biens patrimoniaux, comprenant des oeuvres d'art, des objets d'art décoratifs religieux ou profanes, des objets civils et domestiques, mais aussi ethnologiques, technologiques et scientifiques.

Dates extrêmes pour l’ensemble: Vers 1643-2019
Devis techniques et cartes géographiques: 9 000
Documents iconographiques: 35 000
Documents textuels: 550 m.l.
Heures d’enregistrements sonores: 225
Heures d’images en mouvement :130
Nombre de fonds: 342

MANDAT ET MISSION
En 2006, les Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice de Montréal créèrent la corporation Univers culturel de Saint-Sulpice, en vertu de la loi sur les corporations religieuses (L.R.Q., chapitre C-71), en continuation de la corporation Les Archives des Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice (1991). Ils lui ont confié la gestion de leurs biens culturels.  

Du fait de ses lettres patentes, le mandat de la corporation est d'acquérir, de conserver, d'administrer et de rendre accessible aux chercheurs et au public en général des archives, des livres anciens, des documents de toutes sortes, des pièces de mobilier, des peintures, des sculptures.  

Sous l'autorité du conseil d'administration de la corporation, le coordonnateur du département des archives veille au déroulement des diverses activités touchant les archives et les livres rares. Il a sous sa responsabilité un assistant archiviste et une archiviste pour l'aide technique. Des stagiaires, des employés temporaires et des bénévoles se joignent à l'équipe pour des projets déterminés. Entre autres, le personnel du département assure tant l'organisation des fonds et des collections d'archives, que leur mise en valeur, leur diffusion, la recherche et l'assistance aux chercheurs.  En 2016, le département des archives a été reconnu comme un service d'archives privées agréés par Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec. Le département des archives est membre du Réseau des services d'archives privées agréés du Québec (RSAPAQ) depuis 2016.